India Visa on Arrival for tourists


If you are planning a tourist trip to India, things may have just got a little easier. Tourists from a number of countries, including Australia, Brazil, Germany, the United States and Japan are now able to get visas on arrival in India after its limited scheme was extended.

In all the Visa on Arrival program extends to visitors from 43 countries. They will no longer have to queue up at local consulates, but can instead apply for their visas online and collect them at airports.


Tourism Minister Mahesh Sharma said the change would be boost to the industry.

The scheme was “a dream come true for the entire tourism industry of India and is bound to positively impact the economy,” he said in a statement.

“The government’s objective is to boost tourism and this scheme’s implementation will send out a clear message that India is serious about making travel to the country easy.”

India previously offered visas-on-arrival to visitors from only 12 countries. The full list of eligible countries is now Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

The basic Eligibility criteria are:

  • International Travellers whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation , sight seeing , casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit.
  • Passport should have at least six months validity.
  • International Travellers should have return ticket or onward journey ticket,with sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India.
  • International Travellers having Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin may please apply for regular Visa at Indian Mission.
  • Not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders.


Most other foreigners had to wait several weeks before learning whether they would be allowed to enter India after submitting their applications at visa processing centres. There is a fee of USD60 that is applicable to the Visa on Arrival facility.

The new visa-on-arrival will be available at nine major airports in India.

Subscribe to our mailing list and we'll send you our latest updates

* indicates required

About Author