Hyatt Gold Passport Program


The Hyatt Gold Passport program is the loyalty program of Hyatt hotels. The program is applicable to a large range of the Hyatt bramds, including hotels from the luxury hotels down to the more basic accomodation styles. Particpating brands include (from the higher end to the lower end brands) Grand Hyatt, Park Hyatt and Andaz, Hyatt Regency, Hyatt Place, Hyatt House, plsu some others. In addition, the M life Resorts in Las Vegas particpate in the program.

Overall, the program covers approximately 500 hotels around the globe, so it is not the most extensive hotel network. They do, however, have one or two hotels in many cities around the world.

Gold Passport Program

To partipipate in the program, you will first need to sign up to become a member. This can be done online, for free,  When you first join the program, you will be enrolled into the Gold level of the program, which despite its name is the base level of the program.

Gold Passport Points

Points are the basic currency of the Gold Pasport program. At the base level you earn 5 points for each eligible US dollar spent. Points are earned not only on the room charges, but also on any dining and spa charges – for these, you need not actually be staying in-house to get the points.

As with many programs, Points earned in the program can expire. In the case of the Gold Passport program, points will expire if you have 24 months of inactivity on your account. On the plus side, Hyatt do tend to be proactive in letting you know that you have points that look like they will expire. They give you ample opportunity to address the inactivity prior to them taking the points off you.

Airline Miles

It is possible to collect airline miles in place of points. There are a number of airline programs that you can choose for this, including the likes of Qantas, Cathay Pacific or Singapore Airlines.

In the case of Qantas, you can earn 1,000 points for a stay in Australia (or New Zealand), and 600 points if staying at an international property. For other partners, 500 points is more standard. Note that these are fixed numbers of points, so the rate does not matter, and you do not receive extra when dining or using the Spa services.

Outside of the direct earn options, you can also convert Gold Passport pointst to airline miles. In the case of Qantas, 5,000 Gold Passport points can be converted to 2,400 Qantas Points. For most other airlines, it will convert to 2,000 points although there are a number of exceptions.

It is also worth noting that if you convert 50,000 Gold Passport points, you will get a bonus of 5,000 airline points on the transaction.

Gold Passport Status Levels

Above the Gold Level, there are 2 further elite levels – Platinum and Diamond. In order to achieve Platinum status, you just need have either  5 stays or 15 nights in a calendar year. Diamond status is acheived after 25 stays or 50 nights.

As you move up through the levels, there are further benefits conferred. The following shows the main benefits that are granted at each level within the program


  • Five points per dollar spent
PLATINUM MEMBERSHIP (Requires 5 eligible stays or 15 eligible nights)

  • 15% point bonus on eligible spend
  • Access to preferred rooms, depending on availibility at check-in
  • Dedciated check-in area
  • Late checkout of 2pm, on request

DIAMOND MEMBERSHIP (Requires 25 eligible stays or 50 eligible nights)

  • 30% point bonus on eligible spend
  • Welcome Gift
  • Access to hotel lounges. When lounges are unavailable, free full breakfast is provided instead.
  • Four suite upgrades annually
  • Premium Internet
  • Late checkout of 4pm, on request

There are a few additional benefits at each level, and thses can be viewed on the Hyatt website by clicking the appropriate links above.

Redeeming Hyatt Gold Passport Points

Outside the ability to convert to airline miles, outlines above, Gold Passport points may be used for Award nights at Hyatt hotels. The number of points needed for any given hotel depends on the category it has been assigned, These categories range form Category 1 through to Category 7. Generally speaking, the higher the category, the more points that are required.

In Australia, the Hyatt Regency in Perth, the Hyatt Canberra and Grand Hyatt Melbourne are assigned category 4, and these will set you back 15,000 points for a night for s standard room. Moving up the scale, we find the Park Hyatt Melbourne at Category 5, which will require 20,000 poimts. At the top end, we find the Sydney property at Category 7, requiring 30,000 points for the night.

There are often option to redeem a room that includes lounge access, although these will come at a higher points rate. In a similar fashion, there are options to use points for a suite.

If you are on a paid room night, you can also use the points to secure an upgrade. Again, there are option to upgrade to either a club room or a suite. These cost 3,000 or 6,000 points respectively.



Subscribe to our mailing list and we'll send you our latest updates

* indicates required

About Author